And so we moved to Utah

Standard

We had prayed that God would move us west, we prayed God would give us a place that needed to be reached, we prayed and God answered our prayers! Little did we know what was in store for us when we arrived in the beehive state.

The Bible belt was home, people on front porches waving as you pass by, easy grocery line conversations, neighbors who not only new you, but had dinner with you on a weekly basis. The south was much like Cheers for us, you walk in the door and everyone yelled Norm, but we gave that up to do what we had asked God to do. The funny thing is, that right before we left my wife had gotten a call and a job offer in Jacksonville, FL and when she got the job for Salt Lake City, we were in Jacksonville on vacation. Jax would have been easy, but we NEVER do anything easy.

I don’t regret not going to Jax, it would have been easy to start a church there and begin reaching broken, hurt and addicted people. We wanted to experience more! More, reliance on God and less on our own abilities, well, needless to say, we are reaching that goal! Utah is beautiful and though we have not had to deal with that white stuff falling from the sky and sticking to the ground, we can clearly say we are not in Florida anymore!

We have had our challenges since coming here, the water pump and timing belt went out on our only car four days after being here, several home issues, but most of all meeting people has been tough. I am a people person, I can talk with anyone, but this place has been tough! We go to the farmers market on Saturdays and this thing is huge, 475 vendors selling produce, meats, jewelry, and many other items and it’s packed, thousands of people and just getting a hello back makes me feel like I had the longest conversation in my life! Some people don’t need others, I, on the other hand, need to meet people, I don’t need to befriend everyone, I just like to know about people, I look for connections, I want to be able to help people, to serve others and to eventually share my passion for my savior. I will continue writing more about our journey, but for today, that’s all folks!

One thought on “And so we moved to Utah

  1. Michelle Holder

    Well, they don’t know what they are missing by not talking to you and getting to know you. Keep smiling that beautiful smile……God is faithful!

    Like

Leave a comment